New leadership for Broome Shire Council

Released 24 October 2017

Harold Tracey has been elected Broome Shire President at a Special Meeting of Council held last night, following his re-election to Council at the weekend.

Desiree Male was also re-elected on Saturday and will serve as Deputy Shire President after she was elected to the position also at Monday’s Special Meeting.

Newcomer Catherine Marriott was the third Councillor elected in the Broome Ward on Saturday, joining Cr Tracey and Cr Male, while in the Dampier Ward Philip Matsumoto was re-elected unchallenged after he was the only nomination for the single vacancy.

The newly elected Councillors join Mala Fairborn, Elsta Foy, Warren Fryer, Chris Mitchell and Bruce Rudeforth whose terms expire in 2019.

Councillors are elected to a four-year term, with Ordinary Elections held every two years and about half the Councillors up for re-election each time.

Cr Tracey is a second-generation Broome resident who has raised a family in the town and built a successful local business, and has served as Deputy Shire President for the past three years.

He thanked both the Broome community and his fellow Councillors for their support.

“It’s especially pleasing to be leading a Council that’s both unified and diverse, with a good mix of youth and experience, and with women holding four of the nine Council positions,” Cr Tracey said.

“In addition, both Cr Male and I are proud that for the first time both the Shire President and Deputy President were born and raised in Broome.

“As a Council we now look forward to working hard alongside the community on the many exciting opportunities we have in front of us.”

Cr Tracey also thanked outgoing Shire President, Ron Johnston, for his passion and commitment to the Shire of Broome.

Media Contact: Shire of Broome Administration, (08) 9191 3456
Rate this page. Was this useful to you?