Cr Chris Mitchell elected to lead new-look Council

Published on 22 October 2023

chris and gary.jpg

ABOVE: WAEC returning officer Garry Hawkes (left) with Cr Chris Mitchell shortly after the Shire President election result was formally declared.

Veteran councillor Chris Mitchell has become the first person to be publically elected Shire of Broome president.

Cr Mitchell recently served as Deputy Shire President in the last council, but this will be the first time he has held the top job since being first elected in 1993.

He leads a council that includes four newcomers, including Melanie Virgo, Ellen Smith, Jan Lewis and Johani Mamid, who will join councillors Peter Taylor, Phillip Matsumoto and former Shire President Desiree Male, who were not up for reelection this year.

Cr Elsta Foy, who also served on the Council for three decades, was unsuccessful in securing another term despite having the fourth highest primary vote of the 11 candidates.

New councillors Virgo, Smith and Lewis topped the primary votes, while Cr Mamid secured the fourth position on preferences.

The seat formerly occupied by former Shire President Harold Tracey remains vacant and would need to be filled through a separate election.

Cr Mitchell’s victory was assured after primary vote counting, where he secured more than 50 per cent (1156) of the 1839 votes required to take office.

Brendan Renkin came second, with 510 votes, followed by Michael Leake with 157.

Mr Renkin will have the option to be a reserve in the event Cr Mitchell vacates the Presidency during the first 12 months of the four-year term.

The new Broome Shire Council will be sworn in at a Special Meeting of Council on Tuesday, October 24, followed by another meeting to elect a Deputy Shire President.

Click here to review the election results.


Tagged as: